Voice of Lango

Seven candidates eye Dokolo woman MP seat

14 March 2024, 1:41 pm

NRM flag bearer, Janet Rose Adongo Elau Okello

By Bonny Otim Ogwal (bonny.otim@vol.co.ug) 


Seven candidates have been nominated by the electoral commission to compete for the vacant Dokolo Woman Parliamentary seat.

Three of the candidates including Dr. Esther Akullu Obot, Dr. Anna Grace Lalam Atine and Rebecca Arao are vying on independent ticket and leaning on the National Resistance Movement party.

The other candidates include; Janet Rose Adongo Elau, the NRM party flag bearer, Sarah Aguti Nyankori for UPC, Dr. Rosemary Austin Alwoch Ogwal for FDC and Ageno Harriet, the National Unity Platform candidate.

Addressing the media after the close of the two day nomination exercise at Electoral Commission offices in Dokolo District on Tuesday, the District returning officer Steven Ngobi Erikwanie said the exercise ended successfully without any hindrances.

Stephen Ngoobi on nomination

During their interaction with the media after nomination, the candidates pledged to uplift the status of the populace.

NRM flag bearer Janet Adongo Elau said she will focus on promotion of education once elected.

Adongo Janet on nomination

UPC flag bearer, Sarah Aguti Nyangkori said her focus will be on improving education, health and road infrastructure.

Uganda People’s Congress (UPC) Party President of the Jimmy Akena Obote said they will do all it takes to win this election as they prepare to take over power in 2026.

FDC flag bearer, Dr. Rosemary Alwoch Ogwal who was accompanied by the party President Eng. Patrick Amuriat Oboi said she will ensure improvement in education and health service delivery.

Ageno Harriet, the NUP party flag bearer who was accompanied by acting President of NUP Dr. Lina Zedriga said she will work to bring about the much anticipated change that Dokolo needs.

Dr. Esther Akullu Obot and Dr. Anna Grace Lalam said they will work to improve health and agricultural production in Dokolo.

Dokolo Woman MP seat fell vacant following the death of MP Atim Cecilia Ogwal in January this year.